NCHSAA 1A State Meet Preview

Boys Sprints

Boys 100m

During the NCHSAA Regionals, only two boys broke 11.00 in the 100m: Mountain Island Charter School teammates Armonte Ferguson and Trevin Moyer. Ferguson won the NCHSAA 1A Midwest Regional in 10.65 over Moyer who ran 10.68. Mekhi Bias (Manteo) has the 3rd fastest 100m time in NCHSAA 1A behind the Mountain Island duo. Bias is coming off a strong showing at the 1A East Regional winning the 100m in 11.73. Harrison Horney (Mitchell) won the 1A West Regional in a new personal best time of 11.48. William Mayfield (Mount Airy) was 3rd at the 1A Midwest Regional, but still ran the 3rd fastest time of the weekend behind Ferguson and Moyer, with their Mountain Island teammate Trae Nickelson 4th in 11.05. They will be the top four seeds at NC A&T's Aggie Stadium Friday. Cameron Eady (West Columbus) won a close 100m final at the 1A Midwest Regional in 11.64, outlasting Granville Central's Johnny Estes and Trent Harrington who both ran 11.68.

Section #1

1Malik HaverlandPerquimans County11.88
2Cutler AdamsRobbinsville11.78
3Mekhi BiasManteo11.73
4Trent HarringtonGranville Central11.68
5Kyle HowarthWoods Charter School11.72
6Landon MatzSwain County11.76
7Tykwaille WilliamsRiverside (1A)11.81
8Jaquan CobbSouthside High School11.99

Section #2

1Cameron EadyWest Columbus11.64
2Harrison HorneyMitchell11.48
3William MayfieldMount Airy11.04
4Armonte FergusonMountain Island Charter School10.65
5Trevin MoyerMountain Island Charter School10.68
6Trae NickelsonMountain Island Charter School11.05
7Chandler WoodMurphy11.55
8Johnny EstesGranville Central11.68

Boys 200m

Mekhi Bias was the only individual in 1A to complete the 100m/200m double at their regional, although his time in the 200m only qualifies him for the first of two sections at the state meet, meaning the talent in the 200m field is loaded! Mountain Island Charter's Trae Nickelson had the fastest time of the regionals winning the 1A Midwest in 22.44. Like in the 100m, the 1A Midwest flexed their muscles in the 200m. Nathan Cathcart (Winston-Salem Prep) was 2nd at the Midwest Regional and has the 2nd fastest seed. William Mayfield (Mount Airy) was 3rd at the Midwest Regional and comes into the state meet as the 3rd seed. Polk County's Gage McSwain won the West Regional crown in a tight race over Harrison Horney (Mitchell) and Donovan Berry (Thomas Jefferson Classical Academy).

Section #1

1Jasiah FeltonPerquimans County23.89
2Aidan MyersFranklin Academy23.83
3Tykwaille WilliamsRiverside (1A)23.77
4Mekhi BiasManteo23.67
5Lawson McCorquodaleCornerstone Charter Academy23.76
6Kyle HowarthWoods Charter School23.78
7Jaequan CanadyPender23.87
8Cameron EadyWest Columbus23.94

Section #2

1Donovan BerryThomas Jefferson Classical Aca23.57
2Harrison HorneyMitchell23.52
3William MayfieldMount Airy22.80
4Trae NickelsonMountain Island Charter School22.44
5Nathan CathcartWinston-Salem Prep Academy22.78
6Gage McSwainPolk County23.50
7Blake HawksMount Airy23.57
8Jonathan FradyCherokee23.66

Boys 400m

The 1A 400m race will be one of the best of the day, with six of the eight runners in the second section having gone under 52.00 at their regional. Mountain Island Charter kept their dominance up in the 400m with Giovanni Bernard taking the regional crown with the fastest time of the weekend in 50.72. Regional foe William Mayfield (Mount Airy) was the only other individual to break 51 at their regional, as he clocked 50.84. The 1A West Regional will put all four of their qualifiers in the second section at the state meet. All four runners from the 1A West Region broke 52.00. David McCollum (Avery County) took the regional crown, Darrian Bonilla (Lincoln Charter) was 2nd, Jackson Owens (Cherryville) was 3rd, and Paul White (Hayesville) snagged the final spot and was 4th at the 1A West Region. Zy'mire Harper (Pamlico County) won the 1A East Region and Wilfred Charbonneau (Woods Charter) won the 1A Mideast Region.

Section #1

1Tre'Quan GriffinPerquimans County55.07
2Branden JamesCamden County54.00
3Jameson DaviesCommunity School of Davidson53.36
4Victor GonzalezSouthside High School53.16
5Josh MoralesGranville Central53.35
6Liam MackinnonUnion Academy53.81
7John LePageNeuse Charter School54.73
8Owen LewisResearch Triangle55.52

Section #2

1Wilfred CharbonneauWoods Charter School52.53
2Jackson OwensCherryville51.56
3David McCollumAvery County51.18
4Giovanni BernardMountain Island Charter School50.72
5William MayfieldMount Airy50.84
6Darrian BonillaLincoln Charter51.47
7Paul WhiteHayesville51.60
8Zy'mire HarperPamlico County52.58