Idhammar, Alder Earn Gatorade XC Runner Of The Year Honors

NCHSAA 4A Cross Country State Champions Carmen Alder (Pinecrest) and Anton Idhammar (Cary) have added their names to historic company as Gatorade Cross Country Players of the Year.

Gatorade Press Release For Anton Idhammar

Gatorade Press Release For Carmen Alder

North Carolina Gatorade Track and Cross Country Players of the Year 

Gatorade began recognizing athletes as State and National Players of the year in the 1985-1986 season.  They don't have records for cross country prior to 2008 so it seems like it was added to the sports they recognized during the 2007-2008 season.  Below are the athletes who won the honors.

Boys Cross Country

2008 - Ryan Hill, Hickory

2009 - Taylor Gilland, Chapel Hill

2010 - Jake Hurysz, Eastern Alamance

2011 - Blake Williams, Northern Durham

2012 - Thomas Graham, Cary Academy

2013 - Bakri Abushouk, Cary

2014 - Ben Huffman, Providence Day

2015 - Jeremy Brown, Broughton 

2016 - Jeremy Brown, Broughton

2017 - Connor Lane, Cardinal Gibbons

2018 - John Tatter, R.J. Reynolds

2019 - Anton Idhammar, Cary

Girls Cross Country

2008 - Adrianne Soo, Durham Academy

2009 - Adrianne Soo, Durham Academy

2010- Wesley Frazier, Ravenscroft

2011 - Darby Middlebrook, Watauga

2012 - Sammy George, Millbrook

2013 - Megan Sullivan, Broughton

2014 - Kayla Montgomery, Mt. Tabor

2015 -  Elly Henes, Green Hope

2016 - Nevada Mareno, Leesville Road

2017 - Nevada Mareno, Leesville Road

2018 - Mariah Howlett, Lake Norman Charter

2019 - Carmen Alder, Pinecrest