North Carolina's All-Time NCHSAA Individual Boys State Champions

Hickory Alum Ryan Hill after winning his third straight NCHSAA 3A individual crown in 2007. (Photo by Dennis Albaugh)

We've compiled all of the NCHSAA Boy's Individual State Championships dating back to when it all started in 1956 where only 19 athletes competed at the XC State Championships at Finley Golf Course.  Girls Individuals and Boys & Girls Team Champions coming later this week.

Year All NCHSAA Classifications Ran Together Until 1986
Finley Golf Course Era - 2.2 Mile Course
1956  David Gilmour (Myers Park) - only 19 athletes and 4 teams competed.  All Classes ran together
1957 David Gilmour (Myers Park) -  8 teams competed. All Classes ran together
1958 Tom Stockton (Myers Park) - All Classes ran together
1959 Tom Stockton (Myers Park) - 17 teams competed. All Classes ran together
1960 Rocky Soderburg (Garinger) - 17 teams competed. All Classes ran together
1961 Paul Snell (Northwest) - All Classes ran together
1962 David Starnes (Hendersonville) - All Classes ran together
1963 David Starnes (Hendersonville) - All Classes ran together 
1964 Truett Goodwin (Durham) - All Classes Rank together 
1965 John Puckett (North Mecklenburg)
1966 Frank Spratt (Chapel Hill)
Finley Golf Course - 2.1 Mile Course
1967 Silas Mayfield (Hillside)
1968 Steve Grathwohl (Independence)
1969 Ben Bailey (Enka)
1970 Woody Moss (Olympic) 
1971 Tommy Ward (Chapel Hill)
1972 William Southerland (Henderson Vance)
Finley Golf Course - 2.7 Mile Course
1973 Jeff Moody (Pinecrest)
Finley Golf Course - 3.0 Mile Course
1974 Jeff Moody (Pinecrest)
1975 Bill Lynch (Sanderson)
1976 Billy Lynch (Sanderson)
1977 John Clark (Concord)
Campell University -3.0 Mile Course
1978 Glenn Sparrow (South Point)
1979 Tony Leal (R.J. Reynolds)
McApline Greenway Park Era - 5000 Meter Course 
1980 Ken Dowdle (Myers Park)
1981 Robert Baker (North Iredell)
1982 John Erickson (Southeast Guilford)
1983 John Erickson (Southeast Guilford)
1984 Paul Carpenter (TC Roberson)
1985 Mike Clinebell (Watauga)
4A 3A 1A/2A
1986 Lee Tuttle (North Forsyth) David Honea (Enka) Clad Blair (Lejeune)
1987 Vince Howard (Page) Chris Griggs (Eastern Guilford) John Kaneer (Bunker Hill)
1988 Patrick Phillips (Watauga) Chris Edwards (Northwest Cabarrus) Chad Daniels (Clayton) 
1989 Brant Armentrout (Mount Tabor)  Chris Edwards (Northwest Cabarrus) Jason Bryant (Surry Central)
1990 Paul Kinser (Page) Eric Pragle (North Buncombe) Tommy Trehern (Swain County)
1991 Jason Page (Millbrook) Bryan Zmijewski (Sun Valley) Tommy Trehern (Swain County)
1992 Robert Easter (Garinger) Brian Zmijewski (Sun Valley) Tommy Trehern (Swain County)
1993 Joey Farlow (Grimsley) Eli Huge (Franklin) Bill Jackson (Southwest Guilford)
1994 Will Hodges (Watauga) Chad Pons (Franklin) Bill Jackson (Southwest Guilford)
1995 Buddy Priest (Person) Justin Turner (Glenn) Jonathan Thacker (Mountain Heritage)
1996 Nick Winkel (Rocky Mount)  Jesse Norman (Fuquay-Varina) Aaron Kellar (North Henderson)
4A 3A 2A 1A
1997 Bradsher Wilkins (Orange) Jesse Norman (Fuquay-Varina)  Shiloh Mielke (North Henderson) Erik Perkins (Swain County)
1998 Bradsher Wilkins (Orange) Kevin Crosby (Sun Valley) Shiloh Mielke (North Henderson) Erik Perkins (Swain County)
1999 Ricky Brookshire (Watauga) Kevin Crosby (Sun Valley) David Bost (Salisbury) Erik Perkins (Swain County)
2000 Steve Haas (North Mecklenburg) Lance Hall (Ragsdale) John Henderson (North Henderson)  Clarence Kinley (South Davidson)
2001 Matt Debole (Mount Tabor) Milos Mitric (Asheville) Adam Lindsey (Reidsville) Matt Owen (Rosman)
Tanglewood Park Era
2002 Matt Debole (Mount Tabor)  Jesus Rojas (Harnett Central) Preston Holman (Ashe County) Eric Martinez (Surry Central)
2003 Nick Hutchins (Millbrook) Jeremy Hyder (Hickory) Daniel Slaydon (Reidsville) Neil Waldron (Polk County)
2004 Sandy Roberts (Broughton) Chris Belfiore (Jacksonville) Taylor Adams (Northwood) Miguel Ocampo (Surry Central)
2005 Jack Bolas (Chapel Hill) Ryan Hill (Hickory) Miguel Ocampo (Surry Central) Sam Brinson (South Stokes)
2006 Taylor Gilland (Chapel Hill) Ryan Hill (Hickory) Sean Sewell (Cardinal Gibbons) Kyle Ingram (Hayesville)
2007 Taylor Gilland (Chapel Hill) Ryan Hill (Hickory) Josey Weaver (Madison) Daniel Kimmel (NC School of Science & Math)
2008 Taylor Gilland (Chapel Hill) John Harwell (Asheville) Daniel Yeakley (West Stanly) Eric Blackburn (East Wilkes)
2009 Patrick Crawford (East Forsyth) Jake Hurysz (Eastern Alamance) Chase Miller (Wilkes Central) Matus Kriska (Mount. Airy)
Ivey Redmon Era
2010 Blake Williams (Northern Durham) Graham Crawford (Walter Williams) Eric Williams (Northwood) Matus Kriska (Mount. Airy)
2011 Mark Blackmon (West Charlotte) Steven Phillips (Cardinal Gibbons) AJ Tucker (Cedar Ridge) Stephen Mulherin (NC School of Science & Math)
2012 Bakri Abushouk (Cary) Tanis Baldwin (East Henderson) AJ Tucker (Cedar Ridge) Dylan Johnson (Hayesville)
2013 Wyatt Maxey (Providence) Philip Hall (Terry Sanford) Corbin Boyles (Maiden) Zach Boone (Mitchell)
2014 Jeremy Brown (Broughton) Tanis Baldwin (East Henderson) Nicholas Walker (NC School of Science & Math) Zach Boone (Mitchell)
2015 Jeremy Brown (Broughton) David Melville (Northern Guilford) Frank Kenny (NC School of Science & Math) Kyle Rhodes (East Wilkes)
2016 Connor Lane (Cardinal Gibbons) David Melville (Northern Guilford) Noah Graham (Brevard) Luke Bennett (Voyager)