Kyle Durham Wins Boys Gatorade Player Of The Year

Weddington senior Kyle Durham has been awarded North Carolina Boys Player Of The Year!

"The award, which recognizes not only outstanding athletic excellence, but also high standards of academic achievement and exemplary character demonstrated on and off the track, distinguishes Smalls as North Carolina's best high school girls track & field athlete."

Kyle Durham was the indoor 1600m State Champion, indoor 1000m State Champion, outdoor 800m state champion and outdoor 1600m runner-up.  Durham also played a key roll on Weddington's 4x400m and 4x800m relay teams that were state champions and that top team in North Carolina in both events.

Press Release

Kyle Durham has fantastic range with a sub-50 second 400m as well as a 400m as well as a 15:30 5K PR.

Durham will head to North Carolina State University to continue his track career this fall where he'll compete in both track and cross country.

Durham's excellence in the classroom and on the track add him to elite company as one of the 34 North Carolina Boys Gatorade Track & Field Athletes of the Year.

Boys Track & Field

1986- Terrell Carpenter, Hoke County

1987- Elbert Ellis, Hillside

1988- Randy Jordan, Warren County

1989- Larry Harrington, Millbrook

1990- David Adair, Garinger

1991- Brian Ellis, North Rowan

1992- Shannon Pope, High Point Andrews

1993- Alvis Whitted, Orange

1994- Robbie Howell, Apex

1995- Chris Wylie, Myers Park

1996- Ramando North, West Charlotte

1997- Greg Yeldell, North Rowan

1998- Greg Yeldell, North Rowan

1999- Thomas Lewis, Byrd

2000- Ricky Brookshire, Watauga

2001- Robert Boulware, Z.B. Vance

2002- Mike Loyd, Mt. Tabor

2003- Matt Debole, Mt. Tabor

2004- Andre Tillman, North Rowan

2005- J-Mee Samuels, Mt. Tabor

2006- Jack Bolas, Chapel Hill

2007- Johnny Dutch, Clayton

2008- Dylan Ferris, East Forsyth

2009- Wayne Davis, Southeast Raleigh

2010- Isaac Presson, Asheville

2011- Eric Winfrey, Byrd

2012- Craig Engels, Reagan

2013- John Crossley, West Carteret

2014- Trentavis Friday, Cherryville

2015- Keon Howe, Mallard Creek

2016- Marcus Krah, Hillside

2017- Connor Lane, Cardinal Gibbons

2018 - Jamar Davis, Orange

2019 - Kyle Durham, Weddington