Kirk Walsh, Josh Williams Earn NC USTFCCCA Coach Of The Year

The USTFCCCA announced their state by state winners for High School Coach Of The Year Honors for boys and girls.

Earning the award from North Carolina was Cuthbertson's Kirk Walsh and Lincoln Charter's Josh Williams.  

Walsh coached his Cuthbertson girls squad to their second consecutive NCHSAA 3A State Champion where they placed 5 in the top 21 to win against the deepest 3A field arguable ever.  His athletes Gabriella Castro and Lillian Nasta earned All-State Honors with their 2nd and 10th place finish.  Walsh would coach five girls to All-Region Honors at the 3A Midwest Regional where they placed 6 in the top 11.  This is Walsh's second consecutive year earning Coach Of The Year Honors.

Coach Williams led Lincoln Charter to a dominating season on the NCHSAA 1A level where they won their second straight boys team title.  Lincoln Charter placed their top 5 in the top 18 of the 1A field and scored an impressive 42 points to take the win.  Williams coached 3 boys to All-State Honors with Drew Zink, Cutter Law and Patrick Rice finishing the top 10.  The honors are well deserved after back to back years of domination over their competition over throughout the entire season.

Full List Of USTFCCCA Coaches Of The Year

State-by-state winners were selected based on their teams' performances throughout the 2019 cross country season. Among the factors taken into consideration were team score and placement at the state championships, margin of victory, performance against rankings if available, individual championships, and how their teams' performances stacked up to previous years (e.g. first title in school history, consecutive titles, etc.).

Each honoree will receive a trophy from the USTFCCCA recognizing his or her achievements.

The winners from each state are in consideration for the association's National High School Cross Country Coach of the Year award. One boys coach and one girls coach from among all the states will be selected by a panel of experts and be announced later this month as the national winners.