Article Comment: NCHSAA 4A State Meet Recap
05/20/2014 8:08:10 AM
Coach
SUBSCRIBER
The coaches association needs to address the able bodied and disabled athlete issue. Having disabled athletes score points in an arbitrary manner is a travesty. It creates an unfair playing field and will motivate coaches to use this loophole and tarnish the able bodied meet. The NCHSAA should setup a disabled/handicapped state meet championship where they compete against other disabled/handicapped athletes. It will cost them a few bucks for the trophy. I am no lawyer but I am sure that this has been covered in the ADA and other states have addressed this issue.
The coaches association needs to address the able bodied and disabled athlete issue. Having disabled athletes score points in an arbitrary manner is a travesty. It creates an unfair playing field and will motivate coaches to use this loophole and tarnish the able bodied meet. The NCHSAA should setup a disabled/handicapped state meet championship where they compete against other disabled/handicapped athletes. It will cost them a few bucks for the trophy. I am no lawyer but I am sure that this has been covered in the ADA and other states have addressed this issue.
05/20/2014 8:38:41 AM
Coach
SUBSCRIBER